You are here:  Home  >  Sports  >  Current Article

Golden Ram football players named HSRN All Americans

By   /   January 8, 2014  /   Comments

Written by Stanley McCormick

Albany – Albany State senior safety Dexter Moody, sophomore kicker Zachary Gayden-Holley and senior punt returner Quintory Braswell have been named to the 2013 Heritage Sports Radio Network Division II All American Football Team. The trio was instrumental in leading the Golden Rams to the 2013 SIAC Championship.

Three Albany State University players were named to the Heritage Sports Radio Network Division II All American Football Team. The players are senior safety Dexter Moody, sophomore kicker Zachary Gayden-Holley and senior punt returner Quintory Braswell

Albany State All-American defensive back Dexter Moody was named SIAC Defensive Player of the Year. Moody, rated as one of Division II’s top defensive backs, was all over the field this season and was the field general for the top defensive unit in the SIAC. The senior from Twin City, Georgia finished the season with 45 total tackles, 6.5 tackles for losses, a forced fumble, a block punt, and three interceptions. He was also named the Most Valuable Player of the 2013 SIAC Football Championship game.

Gayden-Holley, a 5’8, 173-lb sophomore from Snellville, Georgia, led the SIAC kickers in scoring with 52 points and a 5.8 average. He made 25 of 27 PATs and 9 of 11 field goals.

Braswell, a 5’10, 180-lb senior from Jonesboro, Georgia, returned 18 punts for 294 yards with a long of 57 yards. He averaged 15.5 yards per return and scored a touchdown. Braswell also recorded 26 tackles, 3.5 tackles for losses, a sack, an interception and 11 pass break ups while playing defensive back for the Golden Rams.

2013 HSRN All American Football Teams

Division I (FCS)
Tristan Bellamy South Carolina State OL Sr. 6-3 290 Jonston, SC Kadeem Edwards Tennessee State OL Sr. 6-4 290 Sanford, FL
Karim Barton Morgan State OL Sr. 6-3 315 Los Angeles, CA
Johnathan Smith Jackson State OL Jr. 6-3 280 Pensacola, FL
Edmond Davis Alabama State OL Sr. 6-3 285 Montgomery, AL
Dray Joseph Southern QB Sr. 6-1 210 Edgard, LA
Isaiah Crowell Alabama State RB Jr. 5-11 190 Columbus, GA
Arnold Walker Alcorn State RB Sr. 5-11 225 Atlanta, GA
Lee Doss Southern WR Sr. 6-2 180 New Orleans, LA
Milton Williams III Delaware State WR Jr. 6-3 200 Washington, DC
A.C. Leonard Tennessee State TE Jr. 6-4 245 Jacksonville, FL
Lawrence Forbes Morgan State P Fr. 6-4 180 Upper Marlboro, MD
Adrian Wilkins North Carolina Central KR So. 5-8 170 Forest City, NC

Anthony Bass Tennessee State DE Jr. 6-2 230 Clarksville, TN
Robert Simpson Miss. Valley State DT Sr. 6-3 267 Gulfport, MS
Miles Grooms Hampton DL Jr. 6-4 245 Richmond, VA
Jar-ryan Harris Ark.-Pine Bluff LB Sr. 6-1 220 Memphis, TN
Joe Thomas South Carolina State LB Sr. 6-0 230 Blackville, SC
Lynden Trail Norfolk State LB Jr. 6-7 260 Miami, FL
Jarkevis Fields Bethune-Cookman LB Sr. 6-0 230 Sanford, FL
Daniel Fitzpatrick Tennessee State S Jr. 6-2 210 Ft. Wayne, IN
Qua Cox Jackson State DB Sr. 6-0 185 Tuskegee, AL
Nick Addison Bethune-Cookman DB Jr. 6-2 180 Tampa, FL
Avery Boykins Miss. Valley State DB Jr. 6-0 190 Wilmington, DE
Bobby Wenzig Alabama State K Sr. 6-2 180 San Diego, CA
Tavoris Doss Alcorn State RS Sr. 5-8 165 Memphis, TN

Division I (FCS) Players of the Year
OFFENSE: Dray Joseph Southern
DEFENSE: Daniel Fitzpatrick Tennessee State
COACH OF THE YEAR: Rod Reed Tennessee State

Division II
Christopher Tolbert Tuskegee OL Sr. 6-5 308 Birmingham, AL
Omar Fahnbulleh Bowie State OL Sr. 6-1 295 Silver Springs, MD
Terrence Owens Miles College OL Jr. 6-2 295 Bartow, FL
Michael Sabb Winston-Salem State OL Jr. 6-4 295 Raleigh, NC
Matthew Reece Tuskegee` OL Sr. 6-3 315 Birmingham, AL
Chris Rini Lane QB Sr. 6-3 175 Key Largo, FL
Marquise Grizzle Shaw RB So. 5-7 185 Camden, NC
Jordan Anderson Virginia State RB Gr. 6-0 215 Houston, TX
Robert Holland Chowan WR Sr. 6-3 190 Newport News, VA
Gregory Moore Lane WR Sr. 6-4 200 Memphis, TN
Khari Lee Bowie State TE Jr. 6-4 250 Baltimore, MD
Darnell Evans Shaw KR Sr. 5-8 180 Madison, NJ
Zachary Holley Albany State K So. 5-8 173 Snellville, GA

Shonquez Nelson St. Augustine’s DL Sr. 6-1 290 Lake City, SC
Jovontay Williams Johnson C. Smith DL Jr. 6-2 245 Stone Mountain, GA
Reginald Woods Tuskegee DL Sr. 6-1 225 Compton, CA
Isaiah Fleming Cheyney LB Sr. 5-11 220 Wilmington, DE
Chaz Robinson St. Augustine’s LB Sr. 5-11 220 Hampton, VA
Carlos Fields Winston-Salem State LB Sr. 6-2 220 Henderson, NC
LeRon Furr Ft. Valley State LB Sr. 6-3 225 Columbus, GA
Darnell Evans Shaw DB Sr. 5-8 180 Madison, NJ
Thomas Wolf III Ft. Valley State DB Sr. 6-0 185 Marietta, GA
Dexter Moody Albany State DB Sr. 6-3 204 Twin Cities, GA
Devin Wallace Virginia Union DB Sr. 6-0 201 Ft. Washington, MD
Kyle Jaski Lincoln (PA) P Jr. 5-11 209 Escondido, CA
Quintory Braswell Albany State PR Sr. 5-10 180 Jonesboro, GA

Division II Players of the Year
OFFENSE: Chris Rini“ Lane College
DEFENSE: Darnell Evans Shaw
COACH OF THE YEAR: Connell Maynor Winston-Salem State

    Print       Email

About the author

Owner / Editor / Writer

Tom Knighton is the publisher of The Albany Journal. In November, 2011, he became the first blogger to take over a newspaper anywhere in the world. In August of 2012, he made the difficult decision to take the Journal out of print circulation and become an online news agency, a first for the Albany area.

You might also like...

Rosseau, Berry lead Darton against GeorgiaTech

Read More →
SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline