You are here:  Home  >  Sports  >  Current Article

Lady Rams picked to win SIAC Women’s Volleyball Championship

By   /   August 28, 2013  /   Comments

Special to the Journal

ATLANTA, GA–The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference announced its 2013 Preseason All-SIAC Teams and Predicted Order of Finish today to start the 2013 season. As voted by SIAC Volleyball Coaches Association, Albany State University is the unanimous favorite to win the 2013 SIAC Women’s Volleyball Championship Tournament, which will be played on November 20-22 in Albany, Georgia.

The Lady Rams, also predicted to finish on top of the East Division, were runners-up last season and will return a solid core of players led by its first team preseason All-SIAC selections Jillian Anderson and Ashley Johnson, who was the 2012 SIAC Co-Offensive Player of the Year.

Anderson, a senior middle hitter from Athens, Georgia, recorded a hitting percentage of .329 and 325 kills. She also led the team in blocks with 77. Johnson, a senior outside hitter from Tallahassee, Florida, finished the 2012 season with a .257 hitting percentage and 418 kills.

Defending SIAC champion Clark Atlanta University was chosen to finish second behind ASU. Benedict College was selected in third place, while Claflin University was picked to finish fourth in the East Division. Paine College and Fort Valley State University were selected as the fifth and sixth team, respectfully.

In the West Division, Stillman College received five first place votes as the favorite to win that division. Kentucky State University was picked to finished second by the association. Tuskegee University was selected to finish third, while Miles College, LeMoyne-Owen College, and Lane College rounded out the bottom half of the West Division predictions.

SIAC East Division SIAC West Division
1. Albany State University (5) 1. Stillman College (5)
2. Clark Atlanta University (1) 2. Kentucky State University (1)
3. Benedict College 3. Tuskegee University
4. Claflin University 4. Miles College
5. Paine College 5. LeMoyne-Owen College
6. Fort Valley State University 6. Lane College

Overall Champion: Albany State University

    Print       Email

You might also like...

Rosseau, Berry lead Darton against GeorgiaTech

Read More →
SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline