You are here:  Home  >  News  >  Government  >  Current Article


By   /   January 10, 2013  /   Comments

Special to the Journal

COLUMBUS, GA—Today, Secretary of Agriculture Thomas J. Vilsack has announced that all 29 counties within the Second Congressional District of Georgia have been named primary or contiguous to natural disaster areas due to a recent drought. In accordance with the designation, farm operators in primary counties and contiguous counties are now eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA) for the next eight months.

Baker, Bibb, Calhoun, Chattahoochee, Clay, Crawford, Crisp, Decatur, Dooley, Daugherty, Early, Grady, Lee, Macon, Marion, Mitchell, Muscogee, Peach, Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taylor, Terrell, and Webster counties have been designated as primary affected counties. Miller and Seminole counties have been designated contiguous disaster counties.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, 92 Georgia counties have suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of (1) D2 (Drought-Severe) for eight or more consecutive weeks; or (2) D3 (Drought-Extreme) or D4 (Drought-Exceptional).

To learn more about FSA disaster assistance loans for farmers, please click here.

    Print       Email

About the author

Owner / Editor / Writer

Tom Knighton is the publisher of The Albany Journal. In November, 2011, he became the first blogger to take over a newspaper anywhere in the world. In August of 2012, he made the difficult decision to take the Journal out of print circulation and become an online news agency, a first for the Albany area.

You might also like...


Score a sober driver for this year’s Super Bowl

Read More →
SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline