You are here:  Home  >  Sports  >  Current Article

ASU’s Gaskins named Division II national defensive player of the year

By   /   December 26, 2011  /   Comments Off



Written by Edythe Bradley


Albany State University linebacker Jamarkus Gaskins has picked up more post-season honors. Gaskins highlights the Daktronics All-America team, which was announced by the Collegiate Sports Information Directors of America. In addition to first-team honors, Gaskins earned the Ron Lenz Division II National Defensive Player of the Year honor after being named the Super Region Two and SIAC Defensive Player of the Year. He was the lone representative from the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) to be named to the team.

The 6-2, 200-pound senior from Tifton, Ga., had 73 tackles (42 solo) to help lead Albany State to an appearance in the NCAA playoffs. Gaskins, who led the ASU “Dirty Blue” defense with 11 sacks, notched with 17.5 tackles for losses of 75 yards in 12 games for the Rams. He also had five pass breakups, three fumble recoveries for 67 yards, two quarterback hurries and a forced fumble. Gaskins was selected to play in the Third Annual HBCU All-Star Bowl, scheduled for Sunday, Dec. 18, at 3 p.m. at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Ga.

Mars Hill College running back Jonas Randolph was named the Ron Lenz Division II National Offensive Player of the Year.

The Ron Lenz National Player of the Year awards were named for long-time South Dakota State sports information director Ron Lenz in 2008. Lenz was instrumental in the foundation of the Daktronics NCAA Division II All-America program.

The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The team is voted on by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (D2SIDA), with the online nomination and voting process powered by ATHLETICSITE.COM.



2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II All-America Football Teams

First Team Offense
TE – David Cannon, Central Missouri, Jr., 6-2, 240, St. Louis, MO
OL – Amini Silatolu, Midwestern State, Sr., 6-3, 320, Tracy, CA
OL – Joe Long, Wayne State (Mich.), Sr., 6-6, 308, Lapeer, MI
OL – Rod Williams, Northwest Missouri, Jr., 6-5, 300, Grandview, MO
OL – Garth Heikkinen, Minnesota-Duluth, Jr., 6-4, 305, Duluth, MN
OL – Darrell Leopold, Delta State (Miss.), Sr., 6-2, 305, Laurel, MS
WR – Trey McVay Northeastern State, Sr., 5-9, 188, Muskogee, OK
WR – Thomas Mayo, California (Pa.), Sr., 6-2, 200, Reston, VA
QB – Dane Simoneau, Washburn (Kan.), Sr., 6-3, 227, Salina, KS
RB – Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill (N.C.), Sr., 5-10, 185, Daleville, AL
RB – Joe Glendening, Hillsdale (Mich.), Jr., 5-10, 188, East Grand Rapids, MI
RS – John Brown Pittsburg State (Kan.), So., 5-11, 170, Homestead, FL
PK – Greg Zuerlein, Missouri Western, Sr., 6-0, 190, Lincoln, NE


First Team Defense

DL – David Bass, Missouri Western, Jr., 6-5, 260, St. Louis, MO
DL – Connor Wright, Colorado Mesa, Sr., 6-1, 250, Wheat Ridge, CO
DL – Jonas Celian, West Virginia Wesleyan, Jr., 6-1, 210, North Lauderdale, FL
LB – Jamarkus Gaskins, Albany State (GA), Sr., 6-2, 220, Tifton, GA

LB – Marcus Dowtin, North Alabama, Sr., 6-2, 225, Upper Marlboro, MD
LB – Nate Dreiling, Pittsburg State (KS), So., 6-4, 228, Hutchinson, KS
LB – Alex Whitehill, Fort Hays State (KS), Sr., 6-3, 220, McPherson, KS
S – Clarence Laster, Southwestern Oklahoma, Sr., 6-0, 190, Hemet, CA
S – Brody Scheff, Bemidji State, Sr., 6-0, 206, Waconia, MN
CB – Arthur Hobbs, Nebraska-Kearney, Sr., 5-11, 190, San Diego, CA
CB – Elijah Davis, Shepherd (WV), Sr., 5-8, 192, Silver Spring, MD
P – Taylor Accardi, Colorado Mines, Jr., 6-2, 205, Littleton, CO


Second Team Offense
TE – Brian Leonhardt, Bemidji State (MN), Jr., 6-5, 253, Blaine, MN
OL – Kyle Thornton, North Alabama, Sr. 6-4, 345, Dallas, TX
OL – Cody Johnson, Northwest Missouri, Sr., 6-2, 290, Jasper, MO
OL – Tyler Hendrickson, Concordia-St. Paul (MN), Sr., 6-8, 318, St. Paul, MN
OL – Stephen Goodin, Nebraska-Kearney, Sr., 6-6, 310, Hastings, NE
OL – Chandler Rearden, Lenoir-Rhyne (NC), Sr., 6-1, 265, Greenwood, SC
WR – Trevor Kennedy, Mercyhurst (PA), Sr., 6-0, 200, Akron, OH
WR – Troy Burrell, Wayne State (MI), Sr., 5-10, 182, Port Huron, MI
QB – Adam Neugebauer, West Virginia Wesleyan, Sr., 6-2, 210, Pittsburgh, PA.
RB – Jonathan Woodson, Texas A&M-Kingsvllle, Jr., 5-10, 185, Missouri City, TX
RB – Travis Daniels, North Carolina-Pembroke, Sr., 5-10, 205, Washington, NC
RS – Deonte Gist, Tusculum (TN), Sr., 5-9, 175, Wellford, SC
PK – Kyle Major, Colorado State-Pueblo, Sr., 6-3, 230, Littleton, CO


Second Team Defense
DL – Aston Whiteside, Abilene Christian, Sr., 6-0, 285, Vernon, TX
DL – Todd Storm, Michigan Tech, Sr., 6-0, 250, Calumet, MI
DL – Randy Colling, Gannon (PA), Sr., 6-5, 320, Arcade, NY
LB – Jordan Campbell, New Mexico Highlands, Jr., 6-0, 230, Corona, CA
LB – Lee Meisner, Colorado State-Pueblo, Sr., 6-0, 240, Sterling, CO
LB – Jeremy Aguilar, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Jr., 6-1, 235, Los Angeles, CA
LB – Chad Kilgore, Northwest Missouri, Sr., 6-1, 230, Orrick, MO
S – Jeremy Jones, Wayne State (MI), Sr., 5-10, 189, Grand Rapids, MI
S – Bryce Peila, Western Oregon, Jr., 6-1, 200, Central Point, OR
CB – Dominique Davenport, Delta State (MS), Sr., 5-10, 180, Baldwyn, MS
CB – Janoris Jenkins, North Alabama, Sr., 5-10, 185, Pahokee, FL
P – Ethan Kosjer, Fort Hays State (KS), Sr., 6-3, 195, Douglass, KS


    Print       Email

You might also like...

Rosseau, Berry lead Darton against GeorgiaTech

Read More →
SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline