You are here:  Home  >  Sports  >  Current Article

ASU star named Region defensive player of the year

By   /   December 7, 2011  /   Comments Off



Written by Edythe Bradley


Albany State University linebacker Jamarkus Gaskins has been named to the 2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II All-Super Region Two Football Team and selected as the region’s Defensive Player of the Year. Gaskins helped the Rams to an 8-4 record and an appearance in the football playoffs.

The 6-2, 200-pound senior from Tifton, Ga., who is also the SIAC Defensive Player of the Year, was the top vote-getter at the linebacker position. A key anchor of the Golden Rams’ “Dirty Blue” defense, Gaskins recorded 73 tackles (42 solo), with 17.5 for a loss of 75 yards in 12 games for the Rams. He led the team and the SIAC with 11 sacks and is ranked 20th in the nation in the category. He also had five pass breakups, three fumble recoveries for 67 yards, two quarterback hurries and a forced fumble.

Two other Golden Rams, running back Nathan Hoyte and defensive back Rashad McRae, were named to the second team. Hoyte, a  5-10, 195-pound junior from Waldorf, Md., rushed for 774 yards on 165 carries for seven touchdowns for the Golden Rams. He averaged 64.5 yards per game. A 5-10, 195 pound senior from Douglas, Ga., McRae was second on the team with 85 tackles (53 solo) with 10.5 tackles for losses. He also had nine pass breakups, five interceptions, three forced fumbles and a sack for the Rams. McRae joined Gaskins on the 2011 All-SIAC Football Team, while Hoyte was named to the second team.

Other SIAC players named to the second team were offensive lineman Marlon Jones and running back David Carter of Morehouse College; offensive lineman Jessie Mitchell, return specialist Keith Massey and linebacker JacQuan Persley of Kentucky State University; linebacker Cory Jones and safety Tyren Futch of Lane College; and defensive lineman Darel Strong of Clark Atlanta University.

Jonas Randolph, a senior running back at Mars Hill College, was selected as the region’s Offensive Player of the Year.

The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The team is voted on by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (D2SIDA), with the online nomination and voting process powered by ATHLETICSITE.COM.


Photo cutline: ASU’s Jamarkus Gaskins, Super Region Two Defensive Player of the Year, attempts a sack of Miles quarterback David Thomas during SIAC championship game



2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II

All-Super Region Two Football Team


First Team

TE – Josh Crumpton, Mars Hill

WR – Deonte Gist, Tusculum #+

WR – Rashaad Carter, Tusculum +

OL – Chandler Rearden, Lenoir-Rhyne #+

OL – Kyle Thornton, North Alabama #+

OL – Tyler Hodgson, Mars Hill

OL – Jamie Dixon, North Alabama

OL – Darrell Leopold, Delta State

QB – Micah Davis, Delta State

RB – Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill $^#+

RB – Travis Daniels, UNC Pembroke

RS – Deonte Gist, Tusculum

K – Colin Corpe, Lenoir-Rhyne


DL – Zeke Andrews, Carson-Newman !+

DL – Robbie Mayers, Delta State +

DL – Terrence Smith, Tusculum %

LB – Apollo Stretch, Newberry +

LB – Jamarkus Gaskins, Albany State +

LB – Marcus Dowtin, North Alabama

LB – Ixavier Triplett, Delta State %
CB – Janoris Jenkins, North Alabama +

CB – Dominique Davenport, Delta State

S – Harrison Dreiling, Valdosta State +

S – Michael Green, Lenoir-Rhyne

P – Andrew Jones, Delta State


Offensive POTY: Jonas Randolph, Mars Hill

Defensive POTY: Jamarkus Gaskins, Albany State


Second Team

TE – Dex Hopkins, Delta State

WR – Mo Milliam, North Alabama

WR – Chris Bowden, Wingate

OL – Mike Arndt, Wingate %

OL – Lamar Young, Delta State

OL – Marlon Jones, Morehouse

OL – Ryan Schraeder, Valdosta State

OL – Kendall Hunter, Delta State

OL – Jessie Mitchell, Kentucky State

OL – Chase Gamble, Newberry

QB – Willy Korn, North Greenville

RB – David Carter, Morehouse

RB – Nate Inman, Carson-Newman %

RB – Nathan Hoyte, Albany State

RS – Keith Massey, Kentucky State

K – Taylor Baskett, UNC Pembroke


DL – Mark Hoskins, Delta State

DL – Darel Strong, Clark Atlanta

DL – Kevin Johnson, Mars Hill

LB – Fred Williams, UNC Pembroke

LB – Cory Jones, Lane

LB – Demetrius Green, Lenoir-Rhyne

LB – JacQuan Persley, Kentucky State

CB – Marvin James, Mars Hill

CB – Dwight Tillman, Delta State

S – Rashad McCrae, Albany State

S – Tyren Futch, Lane

P – Michael Schuster, North Alabama


+ – Top vote-getter

$ – 2008 First Team Selection

! – 2008 Second Team Selection

^ – 2009 First Team Selection

# – 2010 First Team Selection

% – 2010 Second Team Selection




    Print       Email

You might also like...

Rosseau, Berry lead Darton against GeorgiaTech

Read More →
SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline