You are here:  Home  >  Sports  >  Current Article

ASU Lady Rams finish second in SIAC cross country championships

By   /   October 22, 2011  /   Comments

The Albany State University Lady Rams cross country team finished in second place, just 10 points shy of claiming a consecutive SIAC championship title. The Lady Rams, led by senior Brittany Carter, ran a total time of 1:46:20.96 and finished with 46 total points in the 5K run, behind the Clark Atlanta University Lady Panthers during the meet held at the Macon County Road and Bridge Department in Tuskegee, Ala. The ASU men’s team finished in fifth place in the 8K run.

The fastest runner of 60 participants in the women’s championship meet, Carter won the women’s individual title after finishing with an impressive time of 20:10.81 and claimed the SIAC Women’s Most Valuable Performer award. Freshman teammate Olivia Traylor finished second with a time of 20:44.41, and sophomore Ebony Stone finished in ninth place with a time of 21:09.43 for the Lady Rams. Other Lady Rams garnering points for the team included junior Ambrosia Austin with a time of 21:51.93 in 15th place, and freshman Kanetria Kitchens in 19th place with a time of 22:24.37. Closing out for the Lady Rams was sophomore Sherinna Lewis who ran a time of 22:50.11 for 21st place.

The Lady Panthers, who finished with 36 total points, ran a team time of 1:46:00.48 to earn their second title in three years. Clark Atlanta was led by Brittany Robinson, who finished third with a time of 20:56.58. Robinson was named East Division Women’s Runner of the Year, and her coach Pamela Page won the SIAC and East Division Coach-of-the-Year awards.

Finishing in third place were the Kentucky State University Thorobrettes, who were named West Division Women’s Team of the Year. KSU coach Krisja Curlin was West Division Coach of the Year.

In the men’s race, the Morehouse College Maroon Tigers claimed their third consecutive men’s title after running a total time of 2:25:05.70 for 20 total points. Morehouse had five runners finish in the top 10 was led by senior Michael Vinson, who finished second overall with a time of 28:38.53. Benedict College finished in second place with 77 points, Fort Valley State University finished third with 101 points, and Stillman College finished in fourth place with 106.

The  ASU Golden Rams ran a total time of 2:43:18.89 for 135 points for the fifth-place finish. Finishing in the top 10 runners was senior Robert Smith, who led the Golden Rams with an individual time of 29:52.23.

With a time of 28:19.39, Benedict senior Dickson Toroitich finished his career by winning his fourth consecutive men’s individual title and was named SIAC Most Valuable Performer of the men’s championship meet and East Division Runner of the Year. Morehouse’s Willie Hill was named SIAC Men’s Cross Country Coach of the Year and East Division Coach of the Year. In the West Division, Stillman College swept the regular season honors as Curtis Morgan was named West Division Runner of the Year and Pierre Goode was named West Division Coach of the Year.

Clark Atlanta and Morehouse will represent the SIAC in the NCAA South Regional Meet on Nov. 5 at Tampa University in Tampa, Fla.


Brittany Carter

    Print       Email
  • Published: 1413 days ago on October 22, 2011
  • By:
  • Last Modified: October 22, 2011 @ 10:34 am
  • Filed Under: Sports
  • Tagged With: asu, SIAC

You might also like...

Rosseau, Berry lead Darton against GeorgiaTech

Read More →
SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline