You are here:  Home  >  Sports  >  Current Article

Titan hoopsters feted

By   /   May 4, 2011  /   Comments

Special to the Journal


Albany Technical College held its annual banquet for the Titans basketball players and cheerleaders on Friday on campus.

Men and Lady Titans were recognized for their accomplishments during the ceremony. Award presentations were also given to the cheerleaders and players by the coaches, as well as a special presentation for “Friend of

the Titans.” The keynote speaker was Charlene Johnson, athletics director for South Carolina State University.

Johnson spoke to the players on “Going Pro” and what it means. She stressed to the players that their success should be measured outside of sports and they should study just as hard as they play. She asked them would they “go pro” in the NBA or in their chosen field of study?

“You should make your focus on your field of study as enriching and rewarding as your time on the basketball court,” said Johnson. “After graduating from Albany Tech, I’m sure most of you have aspirations to continue on

to further your degree.”

After quizzing the players on their NBA knowledge, Johnson applauded the players’ efforts and emphasized on how impressed she was with their winning season. She ended her speech by reading a poem entitled “A Wishful


The men’s Titans players recognized for their contributions were Duran Blue, Michael Cofield, Jamorris Gaines, Rahaem James, Tyrell Johnson, Harrison Gibson, Triquenski Hicks, Jerry Lewis, Patrick Lewis, Andrew Reason, Justin Wimberly, Eric Walker, and Justin Wilcox.

Special awards were presented to James, Defensive Player of the Year and Winta Majors Community Service Award; Lewis, Offensive Player of the Year; Blue, Most Valuable Player; Tyrell Johnson, Most Improved Player; Hicks, President Scholar Award; and Wilcox, B.J. Brown Coach’s Award.

The Lady Titans recognized for their contributions were Deja Cooper, Iesha Dunbar, Amber Phillips, Shonteria Fortner, Bianca Fennessee, Tiffany Harris, Kiyauna Masten, Latonya Peters, Brittany Thornton, Shayla Jester, Quanesha Smith, Jasmine Vaughn, Annquinnette Wilcher, and Ann Wilcher.

Receiving special awards were Fortner, Defensive Player of the Year; Fennessee, Offensive Player of the Year; Wilcher, Most Valuable Player; Masten, Most Improved Player; Smith, President Scholar Award and Winta Majors Community Service Award; and Deja Cooper, B.J. Brown Coach’s Award.

The Titans cheerleaders recognized were Shkeba Butler, Jameka Grimes, Jana Sullivan (Young Titans Cheerleader), Myasia Van Horn, Kennedi Walker (Young Titans Cheerleader), Marie Williams (President Scholar Award), and Tanisha Ingram. Titans Cheer Coach Sarah Spurlin, and Assistant Cheer Coach, Dietra Windom, were also recognized.

Assistant coaches who were recognized were Ravie Givens (Assistant Men’s Basketball Coach); Brandon Dawkins and Delacia Tolbert (Assistant Lady Titans Basketball Coach). A special “Friend of the Titans” award was presented to SOWEGA Tax and Accounting Services for their service and assistance.














Dr. Anthony Parker, president of Albany Technical College. and Charlene Johnson, athletics director at South Carolina State University, at Friday’s basketball banquet.

    Print       Email

About the author

Owner / Editor / Writer

Tom Knighton is the publisher of The Albany Journal. In November, 2011, he became the first blogger to take over a newspaper anywhere in the world. In August of 2012, he made the difficult decision to take the Journal out of print circulation and become an online news agency, a first for the Albany area.

You might also like...

Rosseau, Berry lead Darton against GeorgiaTech

Read More →
SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline