You are here:  Home  >  Sports  >  Current Article

Lady Rams recieve SIAC honors

By   /   March 4, 2011  /   Comments

SIAC names all-conference teams, Albany State women’s basketball members receive honors
The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) announced its 2011 SIAC Men and Women’s Basketball All-Conference Teams earlier this week and members of the Albany State University Lady Rams were honored.

Head coach Robert Skinner was named the SIAC’s Coach of the Year, junior guard Symone Wilkerson picked up Newcomer of the Year and All-SIAC First Team honors, while freshman guard Kourtney Alexander was named to the Second Team. Selections to the teams were voted on by the SIAC Basketball Coaches Association.

Skinner, who also won the honor in 1990 and 1998, led the Lady Rams to a second-place regular-season finish in the SIAC with 17-11 overall and 16-6 conference records and got his team a regional ranking for the first time in years.
Wilkerson, of Bonair, Ga., averaged 12.4 points per game and was tied for the league lead with 4.2 assists per game. Alexander, a Hinesville, Ga. native, leads the Lady Rams in scoring with 14 points a game.

Wilkerson is joined on the first team by Player of the Year Sammeika Thomas of Miles College, Freshman of the Year Conisha Hicks of Clark Atlanta University, Jasmine Birdsong of Fort Valley State University and Jamila McKinnis of Stillman College. Alexander joins Natalie Davis of Claflin University, Kendra Evans of Fort Valley State University, Courtney Matthewis of Kentucky State University and Tequila Martin of Tuskegee University on the second team.

The men’s All-SIAC team is led by SIAC Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year Marcus Goode of Benedict College. Joining Goode on the first team are Clark Atlanta’s Najee Lane, Claflin’s Eric Salley, Kentucky State’s Tony Johnson, and Stillman’s Lajay Sears.

The men’s coach-of-the-year honors went to Fred Watson of Benedict College, who led the Tigers to a 20-4 conference record, 20-6 overall, and their first regular season title since 2008. Men’s coach of the year is Fred Watson of Benedict College. Watson led the Tigers to a 20-4 conference record, 20-6 overall, and their first regular season title since 2008. Watson also led the Tigers to a number three ranking in NCAA south region.

    Print       Email

About the author

Owner / Editor / Writer

Tom Knighton is the publisher of The Albany Journal. In November, 2011, he became the first blogger to take over a newspaper anywhere in the world. In August of 2012, he made the difficult decision to take the Journal out of print circulation and become an online news agency, a first for the Albany area.

You might also like...

Rosseau, Berry lead Darton against GeorgiaTech

Read More →
SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline