You are here:  Home  >  Lifestyle and Entertainment  >  Community  >  Current Article

ASU announces Math Tournament Winners

By   /   March 4, 2011  /   Comments

On Feb. 25, the Albany State University Department of Mathematics and Computer Science hosted its annual High School Mathematics Tournament in Simmons Hall. A total of 70 students representing eight area schools participated in the tournament.

For the second consecutive year, Tattnall Square Academy of Macon took top honors in the team competition. Colquitt County High School took second place, and Lee County High School finished in third place.

Lindsey Murphy of Tattnall Square Academy took first place in the individual competition. Eric Kirkland of Colquitt County High School and Taylor Morgan of Tattnall Square Academy tied for second place honors. C. J. Bateman of Colquitt County High School and Taylor Holloway of Tattnall Square Academy tied for third.

“This event is very important in highlighting our students’ academic achievements in mathematics and computer science,” said Dr. Rhonda Porter, assistant professor of mathematics and chair of the ASU Mathematics Tournament. “Mathematics and computer science are two of the top academic areas in our country. It is vital that these areas be nurtured, developed and, of course celebrated. It is our duty as educators to spotlight our future students’ successes in mathematics and computer science.”

Participating schools were: Albany High School, Albany, Ga.; Americus/Sumter High School, Americus, Ga.; Colquitt County High School, Moultrie, Ga.; Dougherty County High School, Albany, Ga.; Lee County High School, Leesburg, Ga.; Perry High School, Perry, Ga.; Tattnall Square Academy, Macon, Ga.; and Westover High School, Albany, Ga.

The students who took top honors from their respective schools and the names of their advisors were also recognized at the event. They are as follows:

Student                                               School                                     Advisor

Jailyn Rambo                                      Albany High School               Mrs. Karin Milner

Minh Nguyen                                      Americus/Sumter High           Dr. D. Ndaayezwi/Mr. F. Rankine

Eric Kirkland                                      Colquitt High School              Mrs. Rebecca Croft

Joshua Christina/Thomas Gridley       Dougherty High                      Mrs. Carmenza Foster

Emily Butts                                         Lee County High School        Mrs. Christy Busby

Kayla Heesh                                        Perry High School                   Mr. Richard Kilburn

Lindsey Murphy                                 Tattnall Square Academy       Mrs. Carolyn Smothers

Ellen Roberts                                      Westover High School            Mrs. Renu Angira

    Print       Email

About the author

Owner / Editor / Writer

Tom Knighton is the publisher of The Albany Journal. In November, 2011, he became the first blogger to take over a newspaper anywhere in the world. In August of 2012, he made the difficult decision to take the Journal out of print circulation and become an online news agency, a first for the Albany area.

You might also like...

Boys & Girls Clubs of Albany Announces New Board Members

Read More →
SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline