You are here:  Home  >  Sports  >  Current Article

Jennings ‘player of year’ candidate

By   /   December 21, 2010  /   Comments

Albany State University quarterback Stanley Jennings is a nominee for the National Division II Football Player of the Year Award, presented by The Heritage Sports Radio Network (HSRN).  He is one of four nominees for the national football fan poll award which will honor the most outstanding player from an NCAA Division II school for the 2010 season.

In his first season as a Golden Ram, the junior from Marietta, Ga. led the Golden Rams to impressive 11-1 overall and 10-0 perfect regular season finishes. Jennings and the Golden Rams captured the 2010 SBN National Black College Football Championship, the SIAC Championship title and a berth in the NCAA Division II playoffs.

The offensive powerhouse and key anchor of the Golden Rams “Gold Rush” offense completed 139 of 253 passes for 2,392 yards and 26 TDs. Jennings also rushed for 142 yards on 106 carries for two touchdowns on the season. He is ranked No. 1 in the SIAC and No. 11 in the nation in passing efficiency with an efficiency rate of 159.58. He is first in the SIAC in total offense and No. 56 in the nation. Jennings also led the SIAC in almost every major passing category, including passing yards, yards per game and touchdowns. Under Jennings, the Golden Rams finished first in the SIAC in pass efficiency, passing offense and total offense.

Jennings was named the SIAC’s 2010 Most Valuable Player and Offensive Player of the Year.  He was Super Regional Two finalist for the 2010 Harlon Hill Trophy as the NCAA Division II College Football Player of the Year. He won the HSRN fan poll National Player of the Week award twice after his performances against Morehouse College on Oct. 23 and Kentucky State University in the season opener on Aug. 28.

Football fans across the country can cast their votes for Jennings as the HSRN National Player of the Year by visiting www.HSRN.com. Voting will be available on the HSRN.com home page (Fan Poll) until Wednesday, Dec. 29, at 2 p.m. (1 p.m. CST).  HSRN honored the top-performances on the gridiron for Division I FCS and Division II each week during the 2010 season. The nominees are players of the year from each of the HBCU conferences.

Other Division II nominees for the HSRN Player of the Year Award are Walter Sanders of St. Augustine’s, CIAA Offensive Player of the Year; Malcolm Jenkins of Elizabeth City State University, CIAA Defensive Player of the Year; and Derrin Nettles of Morehouse College, SIAC Defensive Player of the Year.

    Print       Email
  • Published: 1718 days ago on December 21, 2010
  • By:
  • Last Modified: December 21, 2010 @ 5:39 pm
  • Filed Under: Sports

About the author

Owner / Editor / Writer

Tom Knighton is the publisher of The Albany Journal. In November, 2011, he became the first blogger to take over a newspaper anywhere in the world. In August of 2012, he made the difficult decision to take the Journal out of print circulation and become an online news agency, a first for the Albany area.

You might also like...

Rosseau, Berry lead Darton against GeorgiaTech

Read More →
SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline