You are here:  Home  >  News  >  Press Releases  >  Current Article

USDA Approves Georgia Counties for Disaster Designation

By   /   November 29, 2010  /   Comments

ATLANTA – Governor Sonny Perdue today announced that United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Secretary Tom Vilsack has designated 151 Georgia counties as primary disaster areas due to caused by drought and excessive heat from July 1, 2010 to the present.  The designation was in response to request submitted by Governor Perdue.

“Georgia’s economy relies heavily on our agriculture industry,” said Governor Perdue.  “I appreciate Secretary Vilsack’s commitment to do everything in our power to assist farmers in counties that have been hit hard by dry weather and extreme heat in the past several months.”

Based on USDA Damage Assessment Reports, farmers in 151 Georgia counties sustained a 30 percent or greater production loss to a single enterprise due to the drought conditions.  The disaster designation by the USDA allows farmers in the designated counties to be considered for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency (FSA).

The 151 counties are as follows:

Appling Dade Jenkins Schley
Atkinson Dawson Johnson Screven
Bacon De Kalb Jones Seminole
Baker Decatur Lamar Spalding
Baldwin Dodge Lanier Stephens
Banks Dooly Laurens Stewart
Barrow Dougherty Lee Sumter
Bartow Douglas Liberty Talbot
Ben Hill Early Lincoln Taliaferro
Berrien Echols Long Tattnall
Bibb Effingham Lowndes Taylor
Bleckley Elbert Lumpkin Telfair
Brantley Emanuel Macon Terrell
Brooks Evans Madison Thomas
Bryan Fannin Marion Tift
Bulloch Fayette McDuffie Toombs
Burke Floyd Meriwether Towns
Butts Forsyth Miller Treutlen
Calhoun Franklin Mitchell Troup
Candler Fulton Monroe Turner
Carroll Gilmer Montgomery Twiggs
Catoosa Glascock Murray Union
Charlton Gordon Muscogee Upson
Chatham Grady Oconee Walker
Chattahoochee Gwinnett Oglethorpe Walton
Chattooga Habersham Paulding Ware
Cherokee Hall Peach Warren
Clarke Hancock Pickens Washington
Clay Haralson Pierce Wayne
Clinch Harris Pike Webster
Cobb Hart Polk Wheeler
Coffee Heard Pulaski White
Colquitt Henry Putnam Whitfield
Columbia Houston Quitman Wilcox
Cook Irwin Rabun Wilkes
Coweta Jackson Randolph Wilkinson
Crawford Jeff Davis Richmond Worth
Crisp Jefferson Rockdale

Also as a result of this designation, eight contiguous counties are eligible for assistance in accordance with section 321 (a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act. Those counties are as follows: Camden, Glynn, Jasper, Morgan, Clayton, Greene, McIntosh and Newton.

Under the designation, farm operators in both primary and contiguous disaster areas are eligible to be considered for FSA emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) Program. Farmers in qualified counties have until July 26, 2011 to apply for emergency loan assistance. FSA will review each application on its own merits by considering the extent of production losses, security available, and repayment ability. SURE Program applications for 2010 crop losses will be accepted in 2011, when the 2010 farm revenue data required by statute becomes available.

To contact the office that services your county, visit: FSA Offices. For more information about USDA disaster assistance programs, visit: USDA Disaster Assistance Programs.

    Print       Email
  • Published: 1737 days ago on November 29, 2010
  • By:
  • Last Modified: November 29, 2010 @ 11:18 pm
  • Filed Under: Press Releases

About the author

Owner / Editor / Writer

Tom Knighton is the publisher of The Albany Journal. In November, 2011, he became the first blogger to take over a newspaper anywhere in the world. In August of 2012, he made the difficult decision to take the Journal out of print circulation and become an online news agency, a first for the Albany area.

You might also like...

Georgia Receives Near-Failing Grade of D+ for its Lack of Support for Emergency Patients

Read More →
SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline