You are here:  Home  >  Sports  >  Current Article

Five selected for ASU ‘Hall’

By   /   August 4, 2010  /   Comments

Special to the Journal

Five notable legends will be inducted into the Albany State University Sports Hall of Fame’s Class of 2010. The 11th Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held Friday, Sept. 10, at 7 p.m. in the Albany State University HPER Gymnasium. The 2010 inductees are Dr. Wilburn Campbell Jr., Dr. John I. Davis, Johnny Seabrooks, Timothy Goff and Antonio Leroy.

Dr. Wilburn A. Campbell Jr. is an associate member of the ASU National Alumni Association. He was swimming coach at Albany State from 1969 to 1982. During that span of years, his swimming and diving teams were SIAC Champions from 1975 to 1981. Campbell’s swimming and diving teams were the first National Black College Champions in 1979, and he was SIAC coach of the year. His team repeated as National Black College champions in 1980. Campbell is the only Albany State coach to win a college national championship. As a coach, Dr. Campbell contributed to the success of numerous students.

Dr. John I. Davis is a life member of the ASU National Alumni Association. He is credited with developing the ASU women’s volleyball program in 1986 and served as activity director of the National Youth Sports Program from 1976 to 1990. Davis was named head coach of the women’s basketball team in 1982. He elevated women’s athletics at ASU to new heights. Davis was known as basketball’s history maker and record setter. Davis and his “Rammettes” put Albany State and the women’s program in the national spotlight. Dr. Davis continues to recruit student athletes to Albany State.

Johnny Seabrooks, a member of the ASU National Alumni Association, graduated from Howard Academy High School in Monticello, Fla., in 1969. He played football, basketball and ran track while attending Howard Academy. Seabrooks received a football and track scholarship to Albany State. His accomplishments while attending Albany State include receiving four-year letterman in football and four-year letterman in track, receiving the Brain and Bronze Award, being selected Second Team All SIAC Linebacker, setting the triple jump record at the Tuskegee Relays, winning the SIAC triple jump championship and being the runner-up in the long jump. Seabrooks was a member of two SIAC track and field championship teams, including the first SIAC track and field championship team ever. He graduated with his Bachelor of Science Degree in Health and Physical Education in 1974 from Albany State College, and in 1999, he received a Master of Public Administration Degree from Albany State.

Timothy Goff, a member of the Albany State University National Alumni Association, began his matriculation at Albany State in fall 1980. While at Albany State, Goff was a dedicated student and athlete. As a baseball athlete, he was selected as the Most Valuable Player (1982-83, 1983-84), Most Versatile Athlete (1980-81), Best Pitching Record (1980-81), SIAC Sportsmanship Award (1982-83), SIAC Tournament Best Hitter (1983-84), SIAC Tournament Best Slugger (1983-84), SIAC All Conference Team (1983-84). He finished fourth in the nation in Division II baseball, with a .471 batting average (1983-84), and an ASU lifetime batting average of .362. Goff earned an ROTC scholarship for his academic success. He was recognized as a distinguished military graduate and commissioned as a second lieutenant in the U.S. Army Military Police Corps. As a military officer, he held many progressive leadership positions and served his country throughout the world. While in the military, Goff achieved the rank of Lieutenant Colonel and retired in 2005.

Antonio Leroy, member of the Albany State University National Alumni Association, received an academic athletic scholarship to attend Albany State in 1993. As a student athlete, he set numerous records as a running back with the Golden Rams Football Team while earning his bachelor’s degree in health, physical education and recreation. Some of his records include all-time leading rusher at Albany State with 5,152 yards and 60 rushing TDs and fourth all-time leading rusher in the history of Division II football. In 1995 and 1996, he was named Player of the Year for Division II and Athlete of the Year. He was named SIAC Running Back of the Year, SIAC player of the year and 100% Wrong Club Most Valuable Player in 1993, 1994, 1995 and 1996. Leroy also received the Marine Corps Leadership Award in New York City, N.Y., in 1996 and runner-up for the Eddie Robertson “Spirit Award” in Los Angeles in 1996. Another highlight in Leroy’s career was his participation with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers’ football camp during the summer of 1996.

The Albany State University Sports Hall of Fame was organized in 1999 to formally recognize outstanding contributions to the heritage and tradition of excellence of the Golden Rams athletics program. Its purpose is to honor and preserve the memory of athletes, teams, coaches, administrators and supporters whose achievements have brought recognition and honor to the University and its athletic program. These individuals have exemplified the spirit and ideals of athletics in their professional and community life. Thirty people and the members of the 1960 “Undefeated, Unscored Upon Football Team” have been inducted into the Hall.

Tickets for the event are $25. Please contact Sue Fountain at sbfount@yahoo.com or (706) 593-1984, Willie Wingfield at w.wingfield@asurams.edu or 430-3978, Katrina Robinson in the ASU Office of Alumni Affairs at knrobins@asurams.edu or 430-4658 to reserve your tickets.

    Print       Email
  • Published: 1852 days ago on August 4, 2010
  • By:
  • Last Modified: August 3, 2010 @ 5:02 pm
  • Filed Under: Sports
  • Tagged With: asu, featured


  1. Truth B Known says:

    ConGrats TO ALL OF YOU.Take care and God Bless

About the author

Owner / Editor / Writer

Tom Knighton is the publisher of The Albany Journal. In November, 2011, he became the first blogger to take over a newspaper anywhere in the world. In August of 2012, he made the difficult decision to take the Journal out of print circulation and become an online news agency, a first for the Albany area.

You might also like...

Rosseau, Berry lead Darton against GeorgiaTech

Read More →
SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline