You are here:  Home  >  Uncategorized  >  Current Article

Symphony to present ‘Baroque Germany’ on Feb. 20

By   /   January 27, 2010  /   Comments

Take a winter trip to “Baroque Germany” with the Albany Symphony Orchestra, Feb. 20, 2010. Enjoy the rare opportunity to hear all six of Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos. Each concerto features a varied group of soloists, which will showcase outstanding principal players from the ASO.

ASO Conductor Claire Fox Hillard joins the orchestra as violin soloist for this concert. In addition featured soloists from the orchestra include ASO Concertmaster Alexander Reshetnichenko, Principal 2nd Violin Gerome Stewart, Principal Viola Renate Falkner, Principal Cello Steven Thomas. Also featured are Principal Flute Elizabeth Goode, Principal Oboe Susan Brashier, Principal Bassoon Shannon Lowe, Principal French Horn Joshua Crook, Principal Trumpet Adam Hayes and Harpsichordist Marcia Hood.

“The 6 Brandenburg Concertos of Bach are masterpieces of the Baroque period.  As a group they are a summation of Bach’s mastery of instrumental writing,” said ASO Music Director, Claire Fox Hillard. He continues, “They also provide a wonderful opportunity for the Albany Symphony to showcase many of the extremely talented principal players in the orchestra.  I look forward to conducting and performing the marvelous compositions with my colleagues.”

The six Brandenburg Concertos by Johann Sebastian Bach concertos are considered both as a culmination of Bach’s talents as a composer – showcasing all the compositional tools he had at his disposal, and as a pinnacle of Baroque musical composition.

Each concerto in the set is written for a different combination of instruments. The works are concerti grossi, each with a group of soloists supported by a string orchestra and continuo.  Bach undoubtedly had in mind a string “orchestra” of one player per part, resulting in works with a distinctly chamber quality.

All concerts of the ASO’s Subscription Series begin at a new time this season, 7:30 p.m. Saturdays at the Albany Municipal Auditorium, 201 N. Jackson St. at Pine Ave. New this season:

    ·       All seating will be reserved.
    ·       All Concert attendees are invited to “Conversations with the Conductor” at the Albany Municipal Auditorium, 6:30 p.m.
    ·       Also new this season is the “Conductor’s Circle.” Take advantage of this membership opportunity for patrons at the Carnegie Library. The Conductor’s Circle will be open at intermission for drinks and snacks and after the concert for an opportunity to meet the evening’s guest artists and enjoy wine, coffee, cheese and desserts. Single concert memberships: $15 per person, Season Pass (5 performances including Fundraiser Pops): $50 per person.
    Contact the ASO office or go to www.albanysymphony.org for pricing and further information. Individual subscription concert tickets are $35 – $38 (senior/military $30 -  $33) depending on seat location. Students $8. Tickets are available at the door or in advance by calling 430-8933.
    Print       Email

You might also like...

Rosseau, Berry lead Darton against GeorgiaTech

Read More →
SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline